Riddle Me a Rice Krispie

How many times have I sat in my dorm room on a Friday night before going out and said, “Wow I just really don’t feel like popping ANOTHER bag of popcorn”? Sometimes, I just don’t want popcorn for every meal. For Christmas, Santa brought me a microwaveable mug with a plastic top to keep whatever was in it warm. I saw it sitting on top of my micro-fridge and thought to myself, “Hey I wonder what I could use this for”. I started searching online for easy things to make in the microwave without having to go to the grocery store, and I found this awesome recipe for a microwaveable Rice Krispie treat that was super easy to make. I found all 3 ingredients in my dining hall, too. I grabbed some butter from the bread station, the marshmallows from the drink station (we had a hot chocolate machine), and the Rice Krispies at breakfast time from the cereal station, It’s so hard to eat healthy in college when you have access to all the snack foods you could ever imagine, but a treat here and there never hurt anyone, right? You can find the recipe below, and I would love to hear your guys’ feedback on how your came out! Happy snacking!

Ingredients:

1/2 tablespoon butter
4 large marshmallows
1 cup Rice Krispies
Directions:

  1. Melt butter in a mug
  2. Add marshmallows and microwave for 20 seconds
  3. Stir the mixture together until smooth
  4. Add Rice Krispies and mix together
  5. Eat warm or refrigerate to harden the mixture

 

(Recipe from http://www.hercampus.com)

Leave a Reply

